About UTokyo
Home > About UTokyo > Offices and Administration > Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, comprised of the president and seven directors, develops and implements strategy to bolster and revitalize the University's educational and research activities, and ensures that decision-making is done responsibly so that national university accountability standards are upheld. The president must obtain the approval of board members on matters pertaining to any of the following:

  •       Mid-term goals and annual plans.
  •       Matters that require the consent or endorsement of the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, as stipulated in the National University Corporation Law.
  •       Budget creation and implementation and accounting issues.
  •       Opening or closing of Graduate Schools, Faculties, departmental organizations and other important organizations.
  •       Other matters as determined by the Board of Directors.

President Makoto GONOKAMI
Executive Vice President Hiroo FUKUDA
Executive Vice President Kohei MIYAZONO
Executive Vice President Teruo FUJII
Executive Vice President Norio MATSUKI
Executive Vice President Sawako SHIRAHASE
Executive Vice President Masaki SAKAIDA
Executive Vice President Tomoka SATOMI
Inquiries about the content of this page: Public Relations GroupSend inquiry
Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus