Home > Academics > International Activities > Interaction with Overseas Universities > AEARU (Association of East Asian Research Universities)

AEARU (Association of East Asian Research Universities)

The Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU) is a regional organization founded in 1996, with the goals of forming a forum for the presidents of leading research-orientated universities in East Asia and of carrying out mutual exchanges between the major universities in the region. Expectations are that this regional union, on the basis of common academic and cultural backgrounds among the member universities, will contribute not only to the development of higher education and research but also to the opening up of a new era leading to cultural, economic and social progress in the East Asian region.

Member Universities and Institutions (18)
Fudan University
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Nanjing University
National Taiwan University 
National Tsing Hua University
National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Osaka University
Peking University
Pohang University of Science and Technology
Seoul National University
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
The University of Tokyo
Tohoku University
Tokyo Institute of Technology
Tsinghua University
University of Science and Technology of China
University of Tsukuba
Yonsei University
AEARU website
Inquiries about the content of this page: International Projects Promotion GroupSend inquiry
Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus