Home > Academics > International Activities > Interaction with Overseas Universities > APRU (Association of Pacific Rim Universities)

APRU (Association of Pacific Rim Universities)

Formed in 1997, the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) is a consortium of 44 leading research universities in the Pacific Rim. APRU aims to foster education, research and enterprise (for example in the fields of economic development, urbanization, technology transfer, atmospheric pollution, environmental pollution, etc.) thereby contributing to the economic, scientific and cultural advancement in the Pacific Rim.

Member Universities (44)
  • Australia (4): The Australian National University, The University of Sydney, The University of Melbourne, The University of New South Wales
  • Canada (1): The University of British Columbia
  • Chile (1): University of Chile
  • China (6): Fudan University, Peking University, Tsinghua University, University of Science and Technology of China, Zhe Jiang University, Nanjing university
  • Hong Kong (2): The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, The University of Hong Kong
  • Taiwan (1): National Taiwan University
  • Indonesia (1): University of Indonesia
  • Japan (5): Osaka University, The University of Tokyo, Waseda University,Keio University, Tohoku University
  • Korea (3): Seoul National University, Korea University, Yonsei University
  • Malaysia (1): University Malaya
  • Mexico (2): National Autonomous University of Mexico, The Tecnologico de Monterrey
  • New Zealand (1): The University of Auckland
  • Philippines (1): University of the Philippines
  • Russia (1): Far Eastern National University
  • Singapore (1): National University of Singapore
  • Thai (1): Chulalongkorn University
  • USA (12): California Institute of Technology, Stanford University, University of California - Berkeley, University of California - Davis, University of California - Irvine, University of California - Los Angeles, University of California - San Diego, University of California - Santa Barbara, University of Oregon, University of Southern California, University of Washington, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

APRU Thematic Priorities
  1. Shaping Asia-Pacific Higher Education and Research;
  2. Creating Asia-Pacific Global Leaders; and
  3. Partnering on Solutions to Asia-Pacific Challenges.    

APRU website