About UTokyo

About UTokyoAbout UTokyo

UTokyo Global Advisory Board

1st Global Advisory Board Meeting in 2017

Information for board members is as below.

<About Meeting>
  ・ Tentative Agenda
  ・ Materials for the meeting themes (coming soon!)

<Submission Forms>
 If you have not submitted them yet, please send the forms by email (gab.adm@gs.mail.u-tokyo.ac.jp) .
  ・ Registration Form
  ・ Travel Information Form
<About UTokyo>
  ・ Mission and Vision
  ・ Message from the President

What is UTokyo Global Advisory Board?

The University of Tokyo established the President’s Council in 2006 to develop its international strategy and take bold action to become one of the world’s leading universities. It was reorganized to become UTokyo Global Advisory Board in 2017 by strengthening its function to operate more organizationally. The board aims to give advice on important issues and make proposals for future development of the university.
<Roles of UTokyo Global Advisory Board>

・ Reviewing and advising on strategies of the university
・ Advising on specific actions and proposing new directions
・ Advising on education, research, and funding
・ Assisting in creating and developing global networks

Hot Topic: More Women in Academia

The 12th meeting of President’s Council took place on November 25, 2016 on the Hongo Campus with 15 council members attending the event to discuss their views and opinions with President Makoto Gonokami and other senior members of the University.
During the meeting, several members mentioned “gender equality” as one of the most important issues that the university needs to address. Data shows that only about 20% of undergraduate students and 28% of graduate students at UTokyo are female (The University of Tokyo Databook, 2016). Prof. Rita Colwell, Distinguished University Professor of University of Maryland and Johns Hopkins University, emphasized the importance of women in academia. She also suggested inviting more female members to future meetings.

At the end of the day, the members agreed on a tentative action plan, in which UTokyo will aim to increase the number of female members in the next advisory committee (UTokyo Global Advisory Board) and make additional efforts to achieve gender balance in both classrooms and faculty.

Past Meetings

Meetings of UTokyo Global Advisory Board are in principle held once a year, bringing together some of the board members to advise and make proposals on a particular theme.
Year City Meeting Documents
2006 Tokyo The 1st Meeting of the President’s Council Introduction [1.9MB]
Presentation slides [1.5MB]
2007 London The 2nd Meeting of the President’s Council Presentation slides [125KB]
2007 Tokyo The 3rd Meeting of the President’s Council Presentation slides [304KB]
2008 New Delhi The 4th Meeting of the President’s Council Presentation slides [115KB]
2008 Tokyo The 5th Meeting of the President’s Council Presentation slides [648KB]
2009 Tokyo The 6th Meeting of the President’s Council  
2010 New York The 7th Meeting of the President’s Council  
2010 Tokyo The 8th Meeting of the President’s Council  
2011 Geneva The 9th Meeting of the President’s Council  
2013 Bangkok The 10th Meeting of the President’s Council  
2014 Tokyo The 11th Meeting of the President’s Council  
2016 Tokyo The 12th Meeting of the President’s Council Presentation slides [1.3MB]
Wrap up [469KB]

Board Members
UTokyo Global Advisory Board consists of 37 experts listed below. We are honored to have such distinguished members from academic, industrial, and political communities all around the world.

Prof. Dr. HRH of Princess
Chulabhorn Mahidol

Princess, Kingdom of Thailand;
President, Chulabhorn Research Institute

Dr. Jacques Attali
Chairman, A&A
Dr. Marta Szigeti Bonifert
Board Member,
Hungarian Business Leaders Forum
Prof. Christina Cameron
Professor and Canada Research Chair,
Université de Montréal
Dr. Morris Chang
Chairman & Founder,
Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Ltd.
Dr. Un-Chan Chung
Chairman, Korea Institute for Shared Growth
Dr. Bertrand Collomb
Honorary Chairman, Lafarge
Prof. Rita R. Colwell
Distinguished University Professor,
University of Maryland College Park and
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of  Public Health
Prof. Luciano Coutinho
Visiting Full Professor,
University of CampinasUNICAMP
Mr. Bill Emmott
International author and advisor
Dr. Victor Kwok-King Fung
Group Chairman, Fung Group
Prof. Sadaoki Furui
Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Dr. Vartan Gregorian
Carnegie Corporation of New York
Prof. Frederick G. Hilmer
Emeritus President,
the University of New South Wales
Dr. Naoko Ishii
CEO & Chairperson,
The Global Environment Facility
Mr. Hassan Jameel
Vice Chairman,
Abdul Latif Jameel Company Ltd.
Dr. Hiroshi Komiyama
Chairman, Mitsubishi Research Institute, Inc.
Dr. Kiyoshi Kurokawa
Professor Emeritus,
National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies
Prof. Anthony James Leggett
the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee
President, the University of Giessen;
Vice-President, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
Mr. Sunil Kant Munjal
Hero Corporate Service Limited
Mr. N.R. Narayana Murthy
Founder, Infosys Limited
Mr. Stefan Noreen
Senior Adviser,
Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden
Mr. Pär Nuder
Chairman of the Board,
AP3 Third Swedish National Pension Fund;
Chairman of the Board, AMF
Dr. Carmencita D. Padilla
University of the Philippines Manila
Dr. Kari Olavi Raivio
Chancellor Emeritus,
University of Helsinki
Prof. John Mark Ramseyer
Mitsubishi Professor of Japanese Legal Studies,
Harvard Law School
Mr. Charles P. Rockefeller
Head of Partnerships, Composite Apps, Inc.
Prof. Emma Rothschild
Jeremy and Jane Knowles Professor of History,
Director, Center for History and Economics,
Harvard University
Mr. Andreas Schleicher
Director, the Directorate of Education and Skills, OECD
Prof. Klaus Schwab
Founder and Chairman,
World Economic Forum
Dr. Wang Wan
Counselor, Chinese Embassy in Japan
Prof. Xu Zhihong
Boya Chair Professor of Peking University,
Academician of CAS

Mr. Yoshinori Yokoyama
Social Systems Architect
Mr. Yoon Mr. Peter Suk-Mynn Yoon
Vice Chairman,
SBS Media Group and Taeyoung Group
Prof. Michael Y. Yoshino
Herman C. Krannert Professor of Business Administration,
Emeritus, Harvard Business School
Mr. Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala
CEO, Ayala Corporation

*Data last updated in September, 2017.