The Eleventh President’s Council Meeting held in Tokyo

July 25, 2014

Date of activity: July 17, 2014 - July 18, 2014

The Eleventh President’s Council Meeting was held at the Institute of Medical Science, the University of Tokyo (IMSUT) on July 18, 2014.

On this occasion, the meeting being held at, IMSUT,the Institute of Medical Sience, the University of Tokyo. 12 members of the Council(*) attended the meeting with President Junichi Hamada, Prof. Masafumi Maeda (Executive Vice President), Prof. Yoichiro Matsumoto (Executive Vice President), Prof. Hiroaki Aihara (Executive Vice President), Dr. Masako Egawa (Executive Vice President), Prof. Masashi Haneda (Vice President), Prof. Hiroshi Kiyono (Director of the Institute of Medical Science) and others.

Based on the theme of the speech “Higher Education for the 21st Century” given by President Hamada, active discussion took place concerning higher education and university administration from a global viewpoint. The contents of the discussion varied such as improvement of diversity, recruitment and education for excellent students, branding, and cooperation with foreign partners. In addition to this, two presentations,an introduction of the activity of IMSUT by Prof. Kiyono, and an introduction to the research work carried out at IMSUT from Associate Prof. Koichi Matsuda were given.
The Council Members visited the serum storage room at IMSUT and attended the Medical Science museum tour guided by Prof. Toshio Kitamura.

A welcome reception hosted by President Hamada was also held at JP Tower Museum INTERMEDIATHEQUE on the evening of 17th July.

(*) Participating Council Members
Prof. Dr. HRH Princess Chulabhorn Mahidol
Princess, Kingdom of Thailand, President,Chulabhorn Research Institute
Dr. Morris Chang      
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Ltd.
Dr. Un-Chan Chung     
Former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea; Former President and Professor of Economics, Seoul National University
Mr. Bertrand Collomb
Honorary Chairman, Lafarge
Dr. Rita R. Colwell   
11th Director of the National Science Foundation / Distinguished University Professor, Univ. of Maryland College Park and Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Dr. Victor Kwok-King Fung
Group Chairman, Li & Fung Group
Dr. Kiyoshi Kurokawa    
Academic Fellow, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (GRIPS)
Dr. Par Nuder
Senior Director Albright Stonebridge Group, Former Minister of Finance of Sweden
Dr. Kari Olavi Raivio   
Chancellor Emeritus, University of Helsinki
Prof. Xu Zhihong
Former President of Peking University
Mr. Yoshinori Yokoyama
Program Director; Executive Management Program (EMP) of the University of Tokyo
Prof. Michael Y. Yoshino
Herman C. Krannert Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus, Harvard Business School

  • The Eleventh President's Council Meeting
    The Eleventh President's Council Meeting
  • President Hamada giving speech
    President Hamada giving speech
  • Council Members visiting the serum storage room
    Council Members visiting the serum storage room
Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus