The Twelfth President’s Council Meeting Held

December 1, 2016

Date of activity: November 24, 2016 - November 25, 2016

The 12th President’s Council Meeting took place on Friday, 25 November, 2016 in the Seminar Room of the Ito International Research Center on the Hongo Campus of the University of Tokyo.
Fifteen council members (listed below) attended this meeting to discuss their views and opinions with President Makoto Gonokami and other senior members of the University.

President Gonokami gave an introductory speech titled “The University of Tokyo in a Changing World” which was followed by an active discussion on the role of UTokyo in the world and collaboration between industry and academia. The council members, who are outstanding in their capacity as leaders in industry, academia or politics, and who all have had prominent achievements as well as plenty of experience globally, gave valuable opinions on the management of universities in general and UTokyo in particular.

The afternoon session saw presentations from Profs. Toshihiko Koseki, Akihiko Matsui and Kaoru Yamanouchi on the status and current ongoing activities in the Graduate Schools of the University. Discussions taking graduate education as their key topic took place after the presentations.
On the evening of Thursday, 24 November, a reception was held before the meeting at the house of Mr. Hassan Jameel, a member of the President’s Council, to welcome the council members to Japan. Senior members, professors and other members of the University were also present, allowing for genial conversation to take place.
Participating council members
Professor Dr. Her Royal Highness Princess Chulabhorn Mahidol (Princess, Kingdom of Thailand and President of the Chulabhorn Research Institute)
Dr. Rita R. Colwell (USA, Distinguished University Professor, Univ. of Maryland College Park and Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health)
Mr. Luciano Coutinho (Brazil, Full Professor, University of Campinas)
Mr. Bill Emmott (United Kingdom, International Author and Advisor)
Dr. Victor Kwok-King Fung (Hong Kong, Group Chairman, Fung Group)
Prof. Frederick G. Hilmer (Australia, President Emeritus, The University of New South Wales)
Mr. Hassan Jameel (Saudi Arabia, Deputy President and Vice Chairman, Abdul Latif Jameel Company Ltd.)
Dr. Hiroshi Komiyama (Japan, Chairman of the Mitsubishi Research Institute and former President of the University of Tokyo)
Dr. Kiyoshi Kurokawa (Japan, Adjunct Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies)
Mr. Stefan Noreen (Sweden, former Ambassador to Japan and Senior Advisor, Office of the President (UTokyo))
Mr. Pär Nuder (Sweden, Senior Counselor at Albright Stonebridge Group and former Minister for Finance)
Dr. Kari Olavi Raivio (Finland, Chancellor Emeritus, University of Helsinki)
Prof. Xu Zhihong (China, former President of Peking University)
Mr. Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala (The Philippines, CEO, Ayala Corporation)
Prof. Michael Y. Yoshino (Japan, Herman C. Krannert Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus, Harvard Business School

Related URL
  • 12th President's Council Meeting
    12th President's Council Meeting
  • President Gonokami giving his speech
    President Gonokami giving his speech

Related links

Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus