The 12th Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents held online

December 7, 2021

Executive Vice President Kaori Hayashi attended the 12th Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents, on behalf of President Teruo Fujii, on October 29, 2021. The event was hosted by Sun Yat-sen University in China and took place online.

University presidents and other representatives shared issues and deepened their understanding through discussions under the theme of the forum “Opening, Innovation, and Fusion: Aiming for new development of higher education through collaboration between Japan and China.”

At the closing ceremony, Executive Vice President Hayashi, on behalf of the Japanese members, praised the continuation of exchanges online based on the face-to-face exchanges to date, despite the COVID-19 pandemic. She also remarked that further exchanges will be expected on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the normalization of relations between Japan and China in 2022.

The 13th Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents will be held in 2023 at Hiroshima University.

Participating Japanese universities and organizations
Hokkaido University, University of Tsukuba, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Hitotsubashi University, Kanazawa University, Nagoya University, Kyoto University, Osaka University, Kobe University, Hiroshima University, Kyushu University, Aichi University, Keio University, Sophia University, Chuo University, Ritsumeikan University, Waseda University, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) of Japan, Japan Student Services Organization (JASSO), Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), and the Embassy of Japan in China
The Japan Association of National Universities was present as an observer

Participating Chinese universities and organization
Peking University, Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Beijing Normal University, Nankai University, Tianjin University, Northeastern University, Jilin University, Harbin Institute of Technology, Dalian University of Technology, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Nanjing University, Zhejiang University, University of Science and Technology of China, Xiamen University, Wuhan University, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Sichuan University, Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xinjiang University, Sun Yat-sen University, and Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China
South China University of Technology was present as an observer

<Overview of the Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents>
The Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents explores new measures for higher education in Japan and China with the presidents of Japanese and Chinese universities discussing common issues. The Forum also contributes towards the promotion of academic and student exchanges between Japan and China.
The University of Tokyo, along with Peking University, is involved in the conference management as one of the coordinating institutions.

Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus