The 11th Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents held at Waseda University

January 16, 2020

Executive Vice President Sawako Shirahase attended the 11th Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents which took place at Waseda University on November 6, 2019 on behalf of President Makoto Gonokami.

University presidents and other representatives shared issues and deepened their understanding though discussions under the theme of the forum "Opening New Doors for Cooperation to Connect the Now with the Future".

Following the discussions concerning membership in the Overall Session, Kanazawa University and Sophia University were unanimously accepted as new Japanese member universities of the Forum while Sun Yat-sen University was accepted as a new Chinese member university of the Forum unanimously.

The 12th Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents will be held in 2021 at Sun Yat-sen University in China.

Participating Japanese universities and organizations
Hokkaido University, Tohoku University, University of Tsukuba, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Hitotsubashi University, Nagoya University, Kyoto University, Osaka University, Kobe University, Hiroshima University, Kyushu University, Aichi University, Keio University, Chuo University, Ritsumeikan University, Waseda University, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) of Japan, Japan Student Services Organization (JASSO), National Institution for Academic Degrees and Quality Enhancement of Higher Education, and the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)
Kanazawa University, Sophia University and the Japan Association of National Universities were present as observers

Participating Chinese universities and an organization
Peking University, Beihang University, Beijing Normal University, Nankai University, Tianjin University, Harbin Institute of Technology, Dailian University of Technology, Fudan University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Nanjing University, Zhejiang University, University of Science and Technology of China, Xiamen University, Wuhan University, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Xi’an Jiaotong University, Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Japan
Sun Yat-sen University was present as an observer

<Overview of the Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents>
The Forum for Japanese and Chinese University Presidents explores new measures for higher education in Japan and China with the presidents of Japanese and Chinese universities discussing common issues. The Forum also contributes towards the promotion of academic and student exchanges between Japan and China.
The University of Tokyo, along with Peking University, is involved in the conference management as one of the coordinating institutions.  

Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus