Home > Academics > International Activities > Interaction with Overseas Universities > IARU (International Alliance of Research Universities)

IARU (International Alliance of Research Universities)

An association of top class research universities with the aim of raising world leaders of the future.

IARU, the International Alliance of Research Universities, is an international research association of ten world-class research universities, including the University of Tokyo. IARU was founded at a meeting of university presidents at Singapore National University from 13 to 14 January,2006. At the Presidents' Meeting the presidents and vice-presidents of the ten universities signed the articles of association, and also selected the association chairman and, among other topics, discussed the form of collaborative research to be undertaken, researcher and student exchange, and common benchmarking.


Member Universities (11)

  • The Australian National University (ANU)
  • National University of Singapore (NUS)
  • Peking University
  • ETH Zurich
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Copenhagen
  • University of Oxford
  • The University of Tokyo
  • Yale University

IARU website

IARU Global Summer Program at the University of Tokyo


IARU Presidents' Meeting 2015

Inquiries about the content of this page: International Strategy GroupSend inquiry
Access Map
Kashiwa Campus
Hongo Campus
Komaba Campus